Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
1

What the Forbidden Tree in the Garden Really Means

It's not just a kids story about apples
1

Hi Friend,

Thanks so much for joining me in the study of God’s Word again. This episode of the Grounded podcast was a labor of love. I really didn’t feel well but I had a cool paid location locked in so I rallied to do it.

I started the podcast and this newsletter because I meet so many people raised in church who are becoming shaky in their faith (largely because they spend 8 hours a day watching TV and consuming other anti-God online content without spending even an hour a week feeding on God’s word).

My burden for the first six months of this podcast has been on reestablishing the big story of the Bible.

Once you understand the first three chapters of the Bible, you get a better feeling for who God is, what he has designed humans to be, and His plans and commitment to our world. I’m, so fascinated by the Genesis narrative. It’s bottomless, like John’s Gospel.

In this episode I’ll cover:

  • Why it’s Not the “Tree of Good and Evil”

  • Why did God put a tree there if He knew they could ruin creation by eating from it?

  • What does God want from us anyway?

  • What does all this have to do with my life today?

I hope you’ll watch the video and share your comments either on YouTube or here. I read them all and I’m so grateful for your engagement.

What I didn’t get to talk about in the video is how often God does his business with humans around a tree.

  1. In the garden

  2. Moses burning bush experience (baby tree)

  3. Abraham’s visit with God near the trees of Mamre

  4. Gideon encounters an angel of the Lord under an oak tree

    OK, so that’s the game. I got it started. Trace how far this Tree concept goes throughout the whole Bible and post what you think of it in the chat here.

What’s Next?

In the next episode I want to talk about whether the devil/angels are really spirit creatures or also material in some way. Does the current “news” from the military and other sources about ongoing encounters with non-human beings of higher intelligence have any connection with the demons and principalities of the Bible? Lot’s to think about for another week or two.

I’m praying for you if you’re on this mailing list. These are days of great upheaval and transition as we shift between the modern age into the unknown age (they’ll name it after we’re deep into it) and it’s getting pretty crazy in all directions. We can all be grounded even if the world is shaking. That’s the promise of God.

Every Blessing!

Chuck (and Sherry)

PS: Some keep asking me what I’m reading lately so I’ll also be posting a few videos about the two latest books that have my attention.

Thank you for reading Grounded. Please share it.

Share

YouTube Version

1 Comment
Grounded
Grounded with Chuck Quinley
Grounded is a podcast by Chuck Quinley covering the power of our personal narrative, mindset, relational network, and meaningful work, all from a Christian perspective.